MAA Contributed Paper Session for the Baltimore Joint Mathematics Meeting, January 15-18, 2003.
MAA CP X1 Mathematical Connections in Art, Music, and Science, Saturday 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.
Roger Nelsen
nelsen@lclark.edu
983-X1-31
Paintings, Plane Tilings, and Proofs
Vernon Willie
willie_v@sjc.cc.nm.us
983-X1-124
Cancelled
A Mathematical View of the Four Sacred Mountains of the Navajos
Marcia Birken
mkbsma@rit.edu
983-X1-173
Fractal Patterns in Poetry and Mathematics
(w/ Anne C. Coon, accgll@rit.edu)
Sybilla Beckmann
sybilla@math.uga.edu
983-X1-226
Artistic Mathematics at Timothy Elementary School
(w/ Mary Lazzari, lazzarim@clarke.k12.ga.us)
Thomas Hull
thull@merrimack.edu
983-X1-260
Mathematics in Origami
Amy Szczepanski
aszczepa@monmouth.edu
983-X1-265
Quilting the Dihedral Group
Mark Schlatter
mschlat@centenary.edu
983-X1-283
How To Correctly View A Flatland Painting
Anne Burns
aburns@liu.edu
983-X1-289
Mathscapes
Lynn Bodner
bodner@monmouth.edu
983-X1-306
Activities ... from a Course ... "Mathematics of Artistic Design"
Timothy Feeman
timothy.feeman@villanova.edu
983-X1-312
Portraits of the Earth: Mathematical Aspects of Cartography
Alexandra Kurepa
kurepa@ncat.edu
983-X1-426
Mathematics as Tool and Inspiration in Music
(w/ Rodney A. Waschka, rodney_waschka@ncsu.edu)
Helmer Aslaksen
aslaksen@math.nus.edu.sg
983-X1-450
Mathematics in Art and Architecture: A General Education Course
Trisha Bergthold
bergthold@math.sjsu.edu
983-X1-1404
Curve Stitching: Linking Linear and Quadratic Functions
John Sullivan
jms@math.uiuc.edu
983-X1-811
Optimal Geometry as Art
Doug Norton
douglas.norton@villanova.edu
983-X1-1301
Mathematical Connections in Philosophy and Theology
Reza Sarhangi
gsarhangi@towson.edu
983-X1-886
A Visual Approach to Mathematics Education