Math 302 Assignments, Spring 2001

There will be weekly homework assignments, due on Wednesdays (and assigned by the previous Friday). The homework counts for 25% of the course grade. No late homework will be graded. However, late homework is worth doing and handing in, and will be considered in borderline cases.

There are several ways to  drop  your lowest one or two homework scores.

The assignments will be posted here as they are available. 


Homework Assignments

 
 Assignment #1 due Wed., Jan 24
 Assignment #2 due Fri., Feb. 2
 Assignment #3 due Fri., Feb. 9
 Assignment #4 due Wed., Feb. 14
 Assignment #5 due Wed., Feb. 28
 Assignment #6 due Wed., Mar. 7
 Assignment #7 (pdf file) due Wed., Mar. 21
 Assignment #8 due Wed., Mar. 28
 Assignment #9 due Wed., Apr. 11
 Assignment #10 due Wed., Apr. 18
 Assignment #11 due Wed., Apr. 25

Journal Assignments

  1. Problem 1.1 (due Fri. Jan. 19)
  2. Problem 2.1 (due Mon. Jan. 22)
  3. Problem 4.1 for cylinders only, not cones (due Fri. Jan. 26)
  4. Problem 5.1 (due Wed. Jan. 31)
  5. Problem 5.3 b, d, e - do for the plane, not the hyperbolic plane (due Fri. Feb. 2)
  6. Problem 3.1 and 3.2 (due Mon. Feb. 5)
  7. Journal on weird triangles (due Wed. Feb. 7)
  8. Problem 6.5 (due Mon. Feb. 12)
  9. Problem 6.3 (due Fri. Feb. 16)
  10. Problem 9.1 (due Fri. Feb. 23)
  11. Problem 15.2 (due Mon. Feb. 26)
  12. Journal on maps to the sphere (due Fri. Mar. 2)
  13. Problem 16.1(a,b) (due Mon. Mar. 5)  Bring your hyperbolic plane models on Monday, too!
  14. Journal on hyperbolic models (due Fri. Mar. 9)
    No journal due Mon. Mar. 19. Have a happy spring break!
  15. Journal on Axioms - Upper Half-Plane (due Fri. Mar 23)
  16. Journal on Angle Sums of Triangles on the Sphere (due Mon. March 26)
  17. Write up your answers to the computer lab (due Fri. Mar. 30)
  18. Journal on the CAVE (due Fri. Apr. 6)
  19. Problem 7.4 (due Mon. Apr. 9)
  20. Problem 10.1 (due Mon. Apr. 16: no journal for Fri. Apr. 13)
  21. Problem 10.3d (due Fri. Apr. 20)
  22. Journal on Exercises in Imagining (due Fri. Apr. 27)